Ji-Eun's Travel Blog

Springfield, KS


Day 1: Arrival


So far so good! I arrived at the bed and breakfast around 12, checked in, then grabbed lunch and walked around town. The place isn't really anything special - there's a main road, a few shops and two restaurants (one of which, a lovely Italian place, I ate at), and a park with a pool next to the high school, but everyone has been very kind so far! I don't know what's supposedly so spooky about this place. I mean, I know a kid went missing. But this is a small town, of course news like that would be big, and it's more sad than creepy, really. I hope they find him.


The internet here isn't great, but considering this place is in the middle of nowhere, that's not surprising. Updates may be slow. Sorry guys!


Day 3: Weather


It rained today - nothing extreme, but it was quite cold. I tried to walk around and take pictures but it just wasn't worth it. It seems very weird that it dropped so quickly, it was in the 70s yesterday (I got some good pics. Can't upload them yet because my laptop is refusing to connect with my camera for some reason). I know the midwest is infamous for its strange weather, so I guess I'm getting the full midwest experience!


Day 4: The People Here Love to Talk

This has been more interesting than I expected. I'm not used to people being so chatty, I guess they don't get many people from out of town taking vacations down here. At least they've got interesting stories - there's one about the strange weather I mentioned in my last update. Apparently they're super used to that kind of thing, to the point where the guy I was talking to said he heard his neighbor mowing the lawn in the middle of a storm. Granted, it wasn't a heavy storm, but I wonder if mowing is even effective in the rain...


I'm leaving on Friday, but I'm tempted to stay a bit longer. It's not that this town has a lot to see and do, but it's because of that kid. On a couple of occasions I've seen a group of people leaving downtown ("downtown" is generous, it's really just a main street) in a couple of trucks. I'm pretty sure they've been heading out to search for that kid since they had some cops with them. Michael, I think his name is. I'm tempted to help them out... I'm sure a couple more days off work wouldn't hurt.


Day 6

I'm staying a while longer than I thought. I don't have time to write more at the moment, we're heading out again. I'll let you all know why when I get a chance.